4 replies to this topic

#1 boondok_gurl

boondok_gurl
  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Visa type:K-1
  • te

Posted 25 February 2009 - 05:50 AM

Hello again. This is my third post, and I just realized that I have not properly introduced myself. As my ID may indicate, I live in the mountains (of Northern Luzon, to be exact). I have been corresponding with someone in the States for months now. I joined this site to see if there are any posts regarding my "problem", and I see none, so I was hoping to get some input from anyone of you. I really would appreciate it.

So here is my question:

I have been corresponding with a man from the US for a few months now. In the months that we have been communicating, online and via the phone, we discussed his coming here to meet me. He first broached the subject of his coming here sometime in October. At that time, he said he was thinking of coming to see me this April at the earliest. Financially, I really do not have any idea how much he makes or where he is financially, I didnt ask. But I do know that he works as an independent public works inspector in California. I do know this as I googled his name, and his work info came up.

Anyway, fast forward to January, and he tells me that February will be his last month working for the building owners. He has also told me at various times that he has been sending out applications for various projects, but he has not been lucky thus far. He is stressed, I can tell, although when we talk he doesnt dwell on this. It's the last week of February, his last week at work. I am at a loss as to how to communicate with him, knowing his work situation. I know him well enough that when he gets depressed or stressed or frustrated about something, he doesnt call for a few days. His way of dealing with stress is to just stay in the corner and be quiet. He apologizes or leaves me messages online, if he can't call. Sometimes, I call him to ask if he is ok, if I dont hear from him.